Chattanooga Conference on Southern Literature
place.gif (2140 bytes)

Fellowship of Southern Writers

      mviolin.jpg (26000 bytes) In 1987, a remarkable group of writers assembled during the Arts & Education Council’s Chattanooga Conference on Southern Literature to inaugurate the Fellowship of Southern Writers’ forming. Its mission it to encourage and stimulate good writing in the South.

The Fellowship houses its official archives in the Lupton Library at the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga.

Fellowship members include:

A. R. Ammons John Hope Franklin Louis D. Rubin, Jr.
James Applewhite Ernest J. Gaines Mary Lee Settle
Richard Bausch George Garrett Lewis P. Simpson
Wendell Berry Gail Godwin Dave Smith
Doris Betts William Hoffman Lee Smith
Fred Chappell Blyden Jackson Elizabeth Spencer
George Core Madison Jones William Styron
Ellen Douglas Donald Justice Walter Sullivan
Clyde Edgerton C. Eric Lincoln Eudora Welty
Horton Foote Romulus Linney C. Vann Woodward
Shelby Foote Marsha Norman Charles Wright
Reynolds Price
Deceased Members:
Cleanth Brooks, Founding member Walker Percy, Founding member
James Dickey, Founding member Monroe K. Spears
Ralph Ellison Peter Taylor, Founding member
Andrew Lytle, Founding member Robert Penn Warren, Founding member

Fellowship of Southern Writers' portraits by Curt Richter.

Back to the Chattanooga Conference on Southern Literature
Conference Schedule Registration Information Conference Speakers
Fellowship of Southern Writers Conference History Conference Sponsors Conference Planning Committee
Arts & Education Council
e-mail to AEC