Who We Are
Contact Us


Fellowship of Southern Writers

Fellowship of Southern Writers

In 1987, a remarkable group of writers assembled during the Arts & Education Council's Chattanooga Conference on Southern Literature to inaugurate the Fellowship of Southern Writers' forming. Its mission is to encourage and stimulate good writing in the South. 

The Fellowship houses its official archives in the Lupton Library at the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga.

Fellowship members include:

A. R. Ammons Yusef Komunyakaa
James Applewhite C. Eric Lincoln
Richard Bausch Romulus Linney
Madison Smartt Bell Andrew Lytle
Wendell Berry Bobbie Ann Mason
Doris Betts Robert Morgan
Joseph Blotner  Jill McCorkle
Cleanth Brooks Lewis Nordan
Larry Brown Marsha Norman
Fred Chappell Walker Percy
George Core Sam Pickering
James Dickey Reynolds Price
Ellen Douglas Wyatt Prunty
Clyde Edgerton John Shelton Reed
Ralph Ellison Louis D. Rubin, Jr.
Percival Everett Mary Lee Settle
Horton Foote Lewis P. Simpson
Shelby Foote Dave Smith
John Hope Franklin Lee Smith
Ernest J. Gaines Monroe K. Spears
George Garrett Elizabeth Spencer
Kaye Gibbons William Styron
Gail Godwin Walter Sullivan
Allan Gurganus Henry Taylor
Barry Hannah Peter Taylor
Beth Henley Ellen Bryant Voigt
William Hoffman Robert Penn Warren
Josephine Humphreys Eudora Welty
Blyden Jackson Allen Wier
Madison Jones C. Vann Woodward
Donald Justice Charles Wright


return to Conference Home Page


Arts & Education Council | PO Box 4203, Chattanooga, TN 37405
Email | Phone: (423) 267-1218 | Fax: 423-267-1018


Allied Arts Funded Agency     Tennessee Arts Commission