Who We Are
Contact Us


Fellowship of Southern Writers

Lee Smith


Smith has published ten novels and three collections of short stories; News of the Spirit, a collection of stories and novellas, came out in 1998. She is a former Lyndhurst Prize winner, Lila Wallace-Readers Digest Award recipient, and winner of the Fellowship of Southern Writers' Robert Penn Warren Award for Fiction in 1991. She received the Academy Award in Literature 1999 from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. Smith's latest novel, The Last Girls, was published in 2002.


back to Conference on Southern Literature


Arts & Education Council | PO Box 4203, Chattanooga, TN 37405
Email | Phone: (423) 267-1218 | Fax: 423-267-1018


Allied Arts Funded Agency     Tennessee Arts Commission