Who We Are
Contact Us


Fellowship of Southern Writers

George Garrett


former Chancellor and founding member
of the Fellowship of Southern Writers, is the author of many books — fiction, poetry, and non-fiction. His Elizabethan
Trilogy includes Death of the Fox, The Succession, and Entered from the Sun. Recent books are Bad Man Blues, Going to See the Elephant, and Southern Excursions. Honors include the Prix de Rome, the T.S. Eliot Award of the Ingersoll Foundation, the PEN/Malamud Award for Short Fiction, the Commonwealth of Virginia Governor’s Award for the Arts, and the Aiken Taylor Award for Modern American Poetry. He was Poet Laureate of Virginia.

back to Conference on Southern Literature


Arts & Education Council | PO Box 4203, Chattanooga, TN 37405
Email | Phone: (423) 267-1218 | Fax: 423-267-1018


Allied Arts Funded Agency     Tennessee Arts Commission