Who We Are
Contact Us

AEC Conference on Southern Literature
…A Writers' Conference for Readers

2005 Fellowship of Southern Writers Award Winners

Part of the mission of the Fellowship of Southern Writers is to recognize and encourage literature in the South by commemorating outstanding literary achievement. During each of its biennial meetings, the Fellowship recognizes achievement in several categories. The following writers will receive awards during the Conference.

Betty Adcock

2005 Hanes Award
for Poetry
BETTY ADCOCK is author of five volumes of poetry, most recently Intervale: New and Selected Poems. Her awards include the North Carolina Award for Literature, the Texas Institute of Letters Prize for Poetry, and fellowships in poetry from the National Endowment for the Arts and the State of North Carolina. She was a Guggenheim fellow for 2002-2003. Since 1983, she has been Writer in Residence at Meredith College, and she also teaches in the Warren Wilson M.F.A. Program for Writers.

Robert Bausch

2005 Hillsdale Award for Fiction
ROBERT BAUSCH has taught literature and creative writing at George Mason University, The University of Virginia, The American University, and Northern Virginia Community College, and is currently teaching creative writing at the Writer's Center in Bethesda, MD. Bausch is the author of six novels, including On The Way Home, The Lives of Riley ChanceAlmighty Me!, A Hole in the Earth, The Gypsy Man, (winner of the 2003 DLB Award for Distinguished Fiction), and the forthcoming Out of Season. His collection of short stories, The White Rooster & Other Stories won the DLB Award for Distinguished Short Fiction in 1995. He is the identical twin brother of writer Richard Bausch.

Franklin Burroughs

2005 Cecil Woods, Jr. Award for Nonfiction

FRANKLIN BURROUGHS was born in Conway, SC, and is a graduate of the University of the South with a doctorate from Harvard University. His first book, Billy Watson's Crocker Sack, is a collection of essays which includes reflections on fishing and canoeing. Horry and the Waccamaw, first published in 1992 and republished in 1998 as The River Home: A Return to the Carolina Low Country, is an account of a canoe trip made on the rivers in the first title. His essays have been widely published in anthologies including the 1987 and 1989 Best American Essays and The Pushcart Book of Essays: The Best Essays from a Quarter-Century of the Pushcart Prize in 2002.

Jerome Hairston

2005 Bryan Family Foundation Drama Award

JEROME HAIRSTON is originally from Yorktown, VA, and is a graduate of Columbia University's M.F.A. playwriting program. His play, a.m. Sunday premiered in the 26th Annual Humana Festival at Actors Theatre of Louisville, and was later produced at Centerstage in Baltimore, MD. Other plays include L'Eboueur Sleeps Tonight, Forty Minute Finish, and Method Skin. He has received commissions from the Kennedy Center, Centerstage Baltimore, and the Manhattan Theatre Club, where he was a 2001 playwriting fellow. He currently lives in Brooklyn, NY, and is developing several film and television projects.

Thorpe Moeckel

New Writing Award for Poetry

THORPE MOECKEL is a poet and outdoorsman, who won the Gerald Cable Book Award for his collection "Odd Botany" in a national competition sponsored by Silverfish River Press. His chapbook "Meltlines" is based on his river travels in Alaska. His poetry has been published in journals such as Field, The Southern Review, Poetry, The Antioch Review, Nantahala, and Wild Earth. He earned an M.F.A. from the University of Virginia in 2002, where he was awarded both a Hoyns and Jacob Javits Fellowship. Moeckel teaches at Durham Technical Community and Alamance Community colleges.

Ron Rash

2005 James Still Award for Writing of the Appalachian South

RON RASH has been nominated for a Pulitzer Prize and five times for a Pushcart Prize, plus numerous awards for poetry. His poetry and fiction have been published in more than 80 journals and magazines, and his novel One Foot in Eden was the Appalachian Writers Association's Book of the Year. In addition to his second novel, Saints at the River, he is author of two collections of short stories and three collections of poetry. He has taught at Clemson University, University of Georgia, Tri-County Technical College, and is presently at Western Carolina University.

Curtis Wilkie

2005 Special Award for Excellence in Nonfiction

CURTIS WILKIE is a native of Mississippi and graduated from the University of Mississippi in 1963. He worked for the Clarksdale Press Register in the Mississippi Delta during the height of the Civil Rights movement. A national and foreign correspondent for the Boston Globe for 26 years, he has covered eight presidential campaigns and was the paper's Middle East bureau chief from 1984 to 1987. Wilkie is the co-author of Arkansas Mischief and the author of Dixie: A personal Odyssey Through Events That Shaped the Modern South. Wilkie has written for many national magazines, including Newsweek and The New Republic. He lives in New Orleans.
Cleanth Brooks Medal for Lifetime Achievement

To be announced

Back to Conference Home Page








Arts & Education Council | PO Box 4203, Chattanooga, TN 37405
Email | Phone: (423) 267-1218 | Fax: 423-267-1018


Allied Arts Funded Agency     Tennessee Arts Commission