Who We Are
Contact Us
AEC Conference on Southern Literature
…A Writers' Conference for Readers

Guest Writers


DOROTHY ALLISON was born in Greeneville, South Carolina, and makes her home in Northern California. Her first novel, Bastard Out of Carolina, was one of five finalists for the 1992 National Book Award. The novel has appeared in many translations, and was adapted for film in 1996. Cavedweller, her second novel, was a New York Times bestseller, won the 1998 Lambda Literary Award for Fiction, and was a finalist for the Lillian Smith Prize.




SUZETTE FRANCIS is a graduate of Howard University who, after a successful career in business, decided to focus exclusively on being a writer. Rules for a Pretty Woman is her first novel. She lives with her husband and children in the mountains of Tennessee, where she has written and directed plays, and volunteered to tutor public school children in creative writing.


|ROBERT GORDON is author of Can't Be Satisfied: The Life and Times of Muddy Waters and It Came From Memphis, as well as two books about Elvis. He produced and directed the Grammy-nominated documentary Muddy Waters Can't Be Satisfied, wrote and produced The Road to Memphis (an episode of the Martin Scorsese blues series), and directed music videos that have aired on MTV, BET, and CMT. He has written for major music magazines in the US and UK, and has contributed to several anthologies including The Best of Rock Writing 2002.


EDWARD P. JONES is a recipient of the PEN/Hemingway Award, a Lannan Foundation Grant, and fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts and MacArthur Foundation. He was a finalist for the National Book Award twice, for Lost in the City and The Known World, which won the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction in 2004. He has taught fiction at Princeton University, George Mason University, and the University of Maryland, and now lives in Arlington, Virginia.



SENA JETER NASLUND is the author of the novels Ahab's Wife, Four Spirits, and The Animal Way to Love, as well as the short story and novella collections Ice Skating at the North Pole and The Disobedience of Water. A native of Birmingham, she is winner of the Harper Lee Award and is Distinguished Teaching Professor at the University of Louisville and 2003 Vacca Professor at the University of Montevallo, Alabama.


REYNOLDS PRICE has published 35 volumes of fiction, poetry, plays, essays, and translations, including A Serious Way of Wondering, A Whole New Life: An Illness and a Healing, Three Gospels, and Roxanna Slade. He has won the William Faulkner Award and the National Book Critics' Circle Award. His books have been translated into 16 languages, and he is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the American Academy of Arts and Letters.


DANIEL WALLACE is the author of three novels: Big Fish (1998), which has been translated into 18 languages and was adapted for film by Tim Burton; Ray in Reverse (2000), and The Watermelon King (2003). His essays, stories, and illustrations have been published in many magazines and anthologies, and his illustrated work has appeared on t-shirts, refrigerator magnets, and greeting cards across the country. Raised in Birmingham, Alabama, he now lives in Chapel Hill, North Carolina, with his wife and son.

Back to Conference Home Page


Arts & Education Council | PO Box 4203, Chattanooga, TN 37405
Email | Phone: (423) 267-1218 | Fax: 423-267-1018


Allied Arts Funded Agency     Tennessee Arts Commission